Tiny House Nation stand up!!! Ha! I could never live in a tiny house, I suffer from the first world condition of having too much junk. However, anytime I find a TH marathon on, I am hooked. I watch and critique and every time I see a family of more than 2, I think “how in the hell are they going to make that happen!?” But every time they make it work…like magic, they build tiny luxury. During the latest marathon,  it clicked to me that we have a dang on a tiny house in our house.

Three years ago I was trying to figure out what to do with our kid’s playroom (which still looks a hot mess). I wanted to put in something that would provide additional sleeping space for guest and also a place for the kids to chill. After searching the internet, I stumbled upon plans for a bunk bed and asked (begged) the hubs to build it. He said no, a few times and then after a lot of “you can do it conversations”, he agreed! Below are some pictures of our Tiny House Kid’s Edition.

IMG_1841

Inside of the Tiny House, you have a refrigerator, stove, sink, a small table and hand and foot spa. 🙂

 

 

IMG_1843

We just washed the sheets for the “lofted” bed so it is currently unmade, but you get the point. The kids also have a mailbox and a porch light.

 

IMG_1845

The laundry is outside next to the grill, but the renters don’t mind.

This project only took 2 weekends and I must say we love it. It is sturdy and provides a cool space for the kids to hang. As they get older, we will just toss some bean bag chairs in there and small TV. For now, I love that it still has a charm that opens the door for imaginary play. If you would like to build your own, just let me know, I would be more than happy to share the plans.

Leave a Reply

