**This post deviates from our normal content, but we wanted to share.

In April, Avery and I were invited to participate in an online campaign for My Black is Beautiful a campaign through Proctor and Gamble, and the session was nothing short of amazing. I shared my story about my completion issues with two strangers and one friend. It probably was the most vulnerable I have been in a long time. They sent the link to me a few weeks back, and I still have not shared due to that feeling of being exposed. However, today feels like a good day to let it out.

They sent the link to me a few weeks back, and I still have not shared due to that feeling of being exposed. However, today feels like a good day to let it out.

Growing up I heard more times than I can count “You are so dark” “Girl, you need to stay out of that sun”. Hearing this throughout my childhood made me develop a complex growing up. The summer before going into 7th grade I remember the first time I said, “I don’t want to go outside until the sun goes down.” This was a pivotal moment for me, I realized that I could control my looks just by staying indoors, I could silence the critics. So for the next 5 years, I avoided the high sun like the plague. This is a much deeper issue than looks, but at 13 I didn’t realize that. I am not saying I didn’t go outside for five years, but I did become very cognizant of its effects on me. I could write a dissertation about this, but I, for now, I will just stop here.

Feel free to listen to a small snippet of our interview by clicking the link below. The cool thing is Avery was sitting right next to me the entire time I was talking. She learned a little more about me in that moment. I want her to grow up knowing she is beautiful just the way God made her.

I am so glad that I love my summer skin now.

Thanks, P&G! I sound like a rambling fool, but listening to it let me know how real that pain was.

Cost: Free! 🙂

Listen to the link below–

https://www.pgeveryday.com/family/relationships/article/dark-skin-is-beautiful-nicole

My Black is Beautiful
My Black is Beautiful

 

Leave a Reply

